CA: CDFA Announces First Appointments to the California Cattle Council

California Department of Food & Agriculture (CDFA) Secretary Karen Ross has appointed the initial board for the California Cattle Council (Council). The Council was implemented by CDFA at the industry’s request on April 8, 2019, following a vote of industry members.

The Council is authorized to carry out research on cattle production and beef nutrition, and to develop consumer or other educational programs. Program activities are to be funded by a $1 refundable assessment per head of cattle, paid by cattle producers.



The board is made up of eleven members and eleven alternates, with each group consisting of three range cattle producers, three cattle feeders, three dairy producers, one processor, and one public member (open). The appointees were  selected from nominations made by the cattle industry over a six-week nomination period and represent the diversity of cattle producers around the state, as required by the California Cattle Council Law.

California Cattle Council Board Members:

Jesse Larios, Imperial County

Mike Smith, Fresno County

William Brandenberg, Imperial County

David Daley, Butte County

Jacob Parnell, Sacramento County

Julie Morris, San Benito County

Cody Nicholson-Stratton, Humboldt County

Jennifer Beretta, Sonoma County

Tyler Ribeiro, Tulare County

Sarah Mora, Humboldt County

Alternate members are Roger Guess (Tulare), Brad Peek (Tehama), Julie Belezzuoli-Hathaway (Kings), Sheila Bowen (Kern), Beverly Bigger (Ventura), Sam Avila (Fresno), Xavier Avila (Tulare), Lauren Reid-Acevedo (Fresno), Brad Scott (Riverside), and Brian Coehlo (Fresno).

The first meeting of the board is scheduled for July 16 in Sacramento. The agenda is being prepared and will be posted to the CDFA website at by July 6, as required. The board roster and background information on the origins of the program are also available on the site.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.