Dairy farmers of Wis. board election underway

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Dairy farmers have until May 24 to vote for candidates for eight open seats

Dairy farmers in eight Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) d/b/a/ Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin districts have until May 24 to vote for candidates for eight open seats in the current election. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) mailed ballots to eligible dairy producers in the affected districts this week.



The following candidates, listed by district, are certified as eligible:

District 3          Lincoln, Oneida, Price and Taylor counties

Nominee – Mark Leder – Gleason

District 6          Chippewa and Eau Claire counties

Nominees – Jaclyn Backhaus, Boyd, and Douglas Danielson, Cadott

District 9          Shawano and Waupaca counties

Nominees – Donald Robaidek, Pulaski, and Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg

District 12        Portage, Waushara and Wood counties

Nominees – Ken Heiman, Marshfield, and Steve Pankratz, Marshfield

District 15        Adams, Juneau and Monroe counties

Nominee – Mary Cook, Wilton

District 18        Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha              counties

Nominee – Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls

District 21        Crawford and Vernon counties

Nominees – Gail Klinkner, Viroqua, Kevin Wallaser, Desoto, and Danika Wehling, Westby

District 24        Dane and Jefferson counties

Nominees – Virgil Haag, Mount Horeb, and Tina Hinchley, Cambridge

Eligible producers who have not received a ballot by May 10 can request a ballot by contacting       Debbie Gegare, Market Orders program coordinator, at 608-224-5116 or Debbie.gegare@wisconsin.gov. Completed ballots must be signed and sent to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911. The ballots must be postmarked on or before May 25. Unsigned ballots will not be counted.



To view candidate biographies and for more information on the DFW election, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections. Elected producers will serve three-year terms starting July 1, 2019.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.