Farm Credit East Announces Board Election Results

Farm Credit East, a farmer-owned cooperative lender, has announced the results of its recent Director Election and Board reorganization meeting. The Board represents the diversity of Northeast agriculture and forest products.

 Farm Credit East, ACA stockholders recently elected three members to its Board of Directors:

Michael N. Brooks, of Elmer, N.J., was re-elected to a 4-year term. Mike is managing partner and majority owner of Dusty Lane Farms LLC, a diverse 1,400-acre irrigated grain and vegetable farm, growing white potatoes, sweet corn, spinach, peppers, wheat, corn and soybeans.

Philip “Jamie” Jones, of Shelton, Conn., was elected to a 4-year term. Jamie is co-owner and managing member of Jones Family Farms, LLC, a 400-acre retail farm growing strawberries, blueberries, pumpkins and Christmas trees. He also owns Jones Family Farms Winery, LLC.

Terry Rider Zittel, of Eden, N.Y., was elected to a 4-year term. Terry is corporate secretary and business manager of Amos Zittel & Sons, Inc., a wholesale vegetable, flower and retail market business growing 300 acres of fresh market vegetables, including sweet corn, peppers, lettuce and more.

At the April 24 reorganization meeting, the Board re-elected Matthew Beaton, of Wareham, Mass., as its Chair and elected Laurie Griffen, of Stillwater, N.Y., as Vice Chair. In addition to Chair Beaton and Vice Chair Griffen, the five-member Executive Committee also includes Peter Call, Batavia, N.Y., Daniel Corey, Monticello, Maine, and John Knopf, Canandaigua, N.Y.

 “We have an excellent Board of Directors committed to the future of Farm Credit East as an essential partner for Northeast agriculture, commercial fishing and forest products. The diversity of our Board enables us to effectively serve members across our seven state service area,” noted Chair Beaton.

Farm Credit East is a customer-owned agricultural cooperative and part of the nationwide Farm Credit System. Farm Credit East serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island.

The full Farm Credit East Board is comprised of 16 directors, which includes appointed directors who bring additional skills and capabilities to the boardroom. In addition to those recently elected to the Board and those elected to leadership and Executive Committee positions, the Board includes: Tim C. Chan, Claremont, N.H.; Skip Hardie, Lansing, N.Y.; Henry L. Huntington, Loudon, N.H., LouAnne F. King, Madrid, N.Y., Lisa P. Sellew, Lebanon, Conn., Douglas W. Shelmidine, Adams, N.Y.; Diane D. Souza, Little Compton, R.I.; and Peter H. Triandafillou, Orono, Maine.