Forty students benefit from Hilmar Cheese Company, Inc. scholarships

Forty students demonstrating community involvement, academic performance and financial need will each receive a scholarship toward their higher education through Hilmar Cheese Company’s annual scholarship program. This is Hilmar Cheese Company’s fourteenth year awarding scholarships.

The scholarship program has three categories: children of employees of Hilmar Cheese Company, children of the dairy farm families who ship milk to Hilmar Cheese Company, and students with an agricultural major living in the counties where the company is located. This third category is for students not affiliated with the company; but dedicated to the agricultural industry and living in Merced and Stanislaus counties in California, and Dallam and Hartley counties in Texas.

Twelve children of employees will receive a scholarship. Graduating high school seniors awarded $1,000 include Adrian Garcia (Atwater High), Alexander Valdovinos (Turlock High), Angel De La Cruz (Orestimba High), Brayden Walker (Clayton High), Giselle Gutierrez (Delhi High), Javier Cardenas (Atwater High), Jocelynne Whitehurst (Dalhart High), Mary Oliveira (Turlock High), Neida Mendoza (Dumas High), Rafael Chavez (Merced High), and Raylee Martinez (Dalhart High). Current college student Saumya Arora (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) is awarded $1,000.

Eight children of the dairy farm families who ship their milk to Hilmar Cheese Company in California will receive a scholarship. Adriano Garcia (Hughson High), Alyssa Sawyer (Hughson High), Cara Hoekstra (Ripon Christian High), Devin Jordao (Turlock High), Jayson Troost (Stone Ridge Christian High), Jody Omlin (Modesto High), Kyle Prock (Denair High), and Kyle Silva (Turlock High) will each receive $1,000.

Merced and Stanislaus counties California agricultural majors Alicia Renteria (Buhach Colony High), Andrew Dias (Modesto JC), Brooke Rocha (CSU Fresno), Charley Baptista (Turlock High), Cody Rentfro (Hilmar High), Donavan Miguel (Hilmar High), Ethan Jones (Hilmar High), Jonathan Moules (Turlock High), Kiara Rose Gilardi (Los Banos High), Lauren Alvares (El Capitan High), Lawrence Borba (Gustine High), Litzy Duran (Atwater High), Madison Wallace (Turlock High), Mirella Lopez (UC Davis), Morgan Nunes (Modesto JC), Nick Machado (Gustine High), Noah Rantz (Ceres High), Robert Marchy (Turlock High), and Samantha Bright (Chico State) are each awarded $500.

Dallam and Hartley counties Texas agricultural major Leslie Batenhorst (Dalhart High) is awarded $500.

The Hilmar Cheese Company scholarship program reflects the company’s ongoing support of higher education and its commitment to employees, dairy farm families, and the California and Texas agricultural industries.

Qualifying students are encouraged to apply January 1 through March 1, 2018. For more information about Hilmar Cheese Company’s scholarship program, visit the About Us section of