National Outstanding Young Farmers Announced

Tom Steever of Brownfield Ag News announced four winners of the National Outstanding Young Farmers award at the annual NOYF Awards Congress held in Westbrook, Conn. The oldest farmer recognition program in the United States, NOYF honored 10 finalists from across the nation.

Those named national winners for 2020 are Brandon and Ashley Bonk of Delaware, Will and Heather Cabe of Georgia, Michael and Mary Beth Jackson of Iowa, and Doug and Maria Bichler of North Dakota. They were selected for the award based on their progress in an agricultural career, extent of soil and water conservation practices, and contributions to the well-being of the community, state, and nation. National winners received a savings bond from corporate sponsor John Deere and the opportunity to travel to Washington, D.C., during National Ag Week in 2021 to represent the NOYF program.



Brandon and Ashley Bonk raise wheat, soybeans, potatoes, and sweet potatoes near Dover, Delaware. Carnesville, Georgia, is home to the hay, baleage, cattle, goat, and poultry farm of Will and Heather Cabe. Michael and Mary Beth Jackson produce corn, soybeans, and swine near Oskaloosa, Iowa. Cattle, oats, hay, corn silage, and alfalfa are the primary crops of Doug and Maria Bichler of Linton, North Dakota.

The other finalists for the award were Russell and Karli Schiermeier of Idaho, Stuart and Tracy Goble of Illinois, Ned and Olga Gaine of New Jersey, Matthew and Jennifer Lansford of New Mexico, Brooks and Heather Barnes of North Carolina, and Adam and Chrissy Seibel of Wisconsin.



The NOYF program selected its first group of national winners in 1955. The program is sponsored by John Deere, administered by the Outstanding Farmers of America, and supported by the U.S. Jaycees, the National Association of Conservation Districts, and the National Association of County Agricultural Agents.

For more information or to nominate an agricultural producer for the award, visit or the Outstanding Farmers of America on Facebook.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.