Progressive Breeders’ Registry Honors Top Registered Holstein® Herds

Holstein Association USA is pleased to announce the recipients of 2018 Progressive Breeders’ RegistrySM. The Progressive Breeders’ Registry (PBR) is given to the top herds that excel at maintaining a balance of production and type performance, with a high percentage of homebred females.

Established in 1937, this is the Association’s longest-running award and honors over 200 breeders annually.


To qualify for the PBR award, a herd must be a member of both their national and state associations, enrolled in the Deluxe or Premier TriStarSM option, and participate in a classification option which provides a BAA (Breed Age Average). The herd’s BAA must be in the top 25 percent of herds classified in the 18 months prior to March 1 of the award year. Herds must have at least 20 cows which are 87% RHA or higher and at least 75 percent of the herd must be homebred.

Herds must exceed award-year production level cut-offs, which are based on the Mature Equivalent (ME) for combined fat and protein, and cut-offs are adjusted on the ME herd averages for that state, to compensate for regional differences in production levels.

All eligible herds are evaluated automatically each year. In 2018, 218 herds earned this distinction.

There were 35 first-time PBR honorees: Anthony L. Musser, Mo.; Barry M. Richardson, Wis.; Bonow Farms LLC, Minn.; Bradley J. Korver, Iowa; Circle Drive Holsteins, Minn.; Dale B. & Kynel Himmelberger, Pa.; Daniel P. Esh, Pa.; Douglas Brander, Wis.; Dwight J. & Anita J. Rokey, Kan.; Evan & Darla Stump, Pa.; Grafton County Farm, N.H.; Haag Dairy LLC, Wis.; Harold K. Christensen, Jr., Wis.; James D. Busch, Wis.; Jason Volker, Iowa; Jeff Petermeier, Minn.; Jeffrey H. Zuck, Pa.; John D. & Joan M. Judd, Wis.; Kylie Konyn, Calif.; Leroy H. Hoover, Pa.; Mark Carviou, Wis.; Marlin J. Bontrager, Iowa; Michael C. Haag, Pa.; Nelson Farms, Calif.; Nolan S. Garman, Wis.; North Dakota State University, N.D.; Peach Brook Farm LLC, Pa.; Robert & Therese Guenther, Wis.; Roger & Cheryl Arn, Wis.; Shannon Dwyer, Wis.; Sheland Farms LLC, N.Y.; Sonnenburg Farms, Wis.; Stephen D. & Sandra L. Haagen, Pa.; Tim Aho, Minn.; and Weis Way Dairy, Wis.

Two herds have qualified for the PBR award for over 50 years: Keystone Farm in Pennsylvania is a 53-year PBR herd, and Walhowdon Farm of New Hampshire has received PBR honors for 58 years.


A complete list of this year’s recipients, along with those from past years, can be found at the Holstein Association USA website,

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.